top of page
  • Writer's picturefibi lau

Design Museum





In the Design Museum, the Home Futures exhibit was very enlightening. It made me realise the opportunities for the future we have had home. Dunne and Raby’s concept was particularly interesting, in a time where communication becomes harder. They have replaced phones with different physical forms for communication.


Different objects appeared throughout the exhibit each dominating their curated spaces and ‘living ‘ in there. The map and posters guided me around the exhibit and inspired me to create a product of the ‘future’.


One of the designers in the film screening at the end, talked about the permanence of objects in the home, stating they will constantly move and change from our free will. Another designer noted the image of an onion, the layers signifying the boundaries of public and private spaces when you enter a home. When I visited the house in Sheffield I pushed the boundaries of privacy when I asked to look around and take a tour. The further I walked down the corridor, I felt more like an intruder.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page